Video Of Our First Dance! And How to Pick a Good First Dance Song

rayandlauramarriage country wedding reception (1256)

I probably spent at least 1/3 of my wedding planning trying to find good music. The song for the mothers had to be perfect. The first dance had to be perfect. The father daughter dance.. all of it! Perfect! Music has an incredibly powerful way of setting the mood for a wedding. This is one of the reasons why this song was played immediately following our first kiss.

Ray and I listened to COUNTLESS youtube videos looking for a first dance song and my search history was full of “perfect first dance song” “best first dances” “wedding first dances” “non-cheesy first dances” etc. etc.

We were told to pick songs like this. buuutttt, none of them really fit our style.

Eventually we ran across Boat Song by JJ Heller [see bottom of post]. ahhh perfection. The soft melody and almost acoustic feel fit our reception venu perfectly. It’s simplicity is beautiful. The joyful lyrics, adorable. PERFECTION!

So what makes the best first dance song? My advice to future Brides:

  1. Timing. There’s only so many different types of “sways” you can do. You don’t want to be dancing for 8 straight. Plus, everyone is hungry! Make sure your song isn’t too short and isn’t too long. 
  2. Danceable. Check it. For real. Ray and I had soooo many favorites we wanted as our first dance, but when we practiced in our living room the beat was either WAY too slow or too fast. We wanted the tempo of our song to be slower as we soaked in the precious first moments as Mr. and Mrs. :)
  3. Pick something unique to your relationship. Don’t be boring!!!! You don’t have to go traditional.

Easy peasy lemon squeezie.

Boat song was perfect after our awesome drum line entrance .. :)

Drumline entrance country wedding (1223) drumline entrance barn wedding (1238)

So here’s a video of our first dance, and a couple clips here and there from other parts of the day. :) We thought it was too boring to show 3 minutes and 51 seconds of straight swaying. Sorry for the buzz during the ceremony… I wish our wedding videographers had edited that out. :(

CHEERS!

Lyrics:  Boat Song – JJ Heller
If you were a boat, my darling
A boat, my darling
I’d be the wind at your back
If you were afraid, my darling
Afraid, my darling
I’d be the courage you lack

If you were a bird, then I’d be a tree
And you would come home, my darling, to me
If you were asleep, then I’d be a dream
Wherever you are, that’s where my heart will be
Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

If you were the ocean, I’d be the sand
If you were a song, I’d be the band
If you were the stars, then I’d be the moon
A light in the dark, my darling, for you

Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?
Oh, do you know we belong together?
Oh, do you know my heart is yours?

12 thoughts on “Video Of Our First Dance! And How to Pick a Good First Dance Song

  1. So sweet! My cousin and her new hubby danced to “More today than yesterday.” Totally different than your choice, but just as unique and memorable.

  2. Pingback: He Loved Me First.. The First Look With My Daddy & Video of Our Father Daughter Dance « Joy Will Grow

What do you think?

