Rest in great great joy, Grandpa. A life well lived.

Today I am celebrating two things

  1. My 23rd Birthday
  2. Grandpa’s homecoming with Jesus

There is SO MUCH JOY in today!!!! Grandpa is spending his first full day in the life he was created to live. No sorrow, no pain, no more hurt in his world. Grandpa is with his maker… and Grandma. ♥

I’ve had a lot of texts and emails today from my close friends expressing their condolences of Granda’s death. There’s usually something along the lines of “I’m so sorry this is happening on your birthday. First Grandma on your wedding, now Grandpa on your birthday”. And maybe I’m crazy, but I am 100% okay with all of this. I trust God’s plan is perfect. He knew that our wedding day was going to be August 11, he knew Grandma was going to have a heart attack that morning. He knew Grandpa would barely make it to the wedding and then dance with me. He knew Grandpa would die yesterday. He knew it all. You see, I’d rather it be this way, really. God has given me the greatest peace imaginable. I know Grandpa and Grandma are in heaven, and I know they are with Jesus.  September is a big month in my family — we have 4 birthdays in the span of three weeks! One of those is my dad’s. We all prayed that God wouldn’t take Grandpa on Dad’s birthday. I am so thankful he didn’t. Not to say that my father or brother wouldn’t have dealt with it properly – just that ….idk… God gave me peace. I’m not in the least bit sad. Sure, I will miss the memories, and our first Christmas away from Grandma’s house will be different. BUT. [the biggest buts of all buts]. Grandpa and Grandma have achieved their goal. Their true homecoming.

What greater JOY than to finally meet your maker!!!! This is the one instance where joy is completely fulfilled. It can advance no more. But for the rest of us… as we wait here on earth. Joy continues to grow. Every moment. Every day. Every memory and every new life. Joy is growing. Do you feel it? It’s all around you. Look for it. It’s there.

Joy is growing everyone. Joy is growing.

“When He shall come with trumpet sound, Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in his righteousness alone, faultless stand before the throne.”
For anyone who would like to attend, Grandpa’s funeral will be tomorrow (Sunday) at 3:00pm at Vaughn Guynn in Galax. The family will receive friends starting at 1:30.

Life Well Lived

Grandpa and Kate, one week before death.

Daddy and Grandpa picking cherries (2010)

3 thoughts on “Rest in great great joy, Grandpa. A life well lived.

  1. Wow. What a perspective…You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. The maturity of your faith is impressive; thank God for what he has done in you through the work of Christ! Btw, happy birthday!

  2. How awesome ..Happy Birthday to you … and Blessing to you all .. They have to be so proud of such a wonderful family with passion and a love for your faith in Jesus Christ ….

What do you think?

