What would you think about if you were dying?

I starting thinking about this on the way home from work today. If I knew I was going to die in the next couple of days…what would I think about? Would I think about all the memories over my last 80 years, or would it make me to sad to know I wouldn’t be making any more of them? Would I think about how I couldn’t wait to see my spouse, or would I be worried that earthly love would be different in heaven? I would like to hope that I would be thinking about how excited I was to see Jesus. But in all honesty, it’s hard to imagine that. It’s hard to wrap your mind around knowing you are going somewhere amazing, and that you should be happy for that, but also knowing that you’re leaving everyone you love behind.

Man. Death is tough.

It seems like recent signs seem to be indicating that, unless God has other plans, my sweet Grandpa doesn’t have much longer to live. (Yes, the Grandpa that danced.). Tomorrow will be exactly one month since Grandma’s death. Heck, I think that’s quite an accomplishment. I can’t imagine 30 days without someone you’ve been next to for roughly 21,900 days. (60 years) I know he wants to go see Grandma so badly. But I know he’s sad about the possibility of not getting to see Kate grow up, or Jacob graduate, or his future grandchildren’s birth.

BUT. I also know that our understanding of heaven doesn’t even begin to break through the tip of what it’s actually going to be like. Heaven will be more perfect than anything our human minds could ever understand. I have to trust that just as my earthly father knows what is best for me, our heavenly Father also knows what is best for his children. After all, in the grand scheme of eternity, our life on earth is but a blink of an eye.

Only God knows how much longer we have with our loved ones. Hug yours tight today.

4 thoughts on “What would you think about if you were dying?

  1. Laura,
    You don’t know me – I found your blog when Annalee posted it on Facebook, but reading this post makes me think of my grandparents, who died 7 weeks apart from one another, just under a year ago. Although it makes me heart ache to even think about it, I also feel joy to think that love can be that strong. I’ll be thinking of you, and your family, and praying for your peace during a difficult time.

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you
    make this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to
    find out where u got this from. thank you

What do you think?

